# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF MICROSCOPY SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA, HELD ON DECEMBER 4TH 2019 AT 16H00, CLUB MYKONOS, LANGEBAAN

## 1. WELCOME

The President, Prof C Baker, welcomed all to the AGM. Attendees were requested to sign the attendance registers.

#### 2. APOLOGIES

Apologies were tendered for Prof L Cornish and Dalene Meyer.

#### 3. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS AGM:

The minutes of the AGM held on 8 December 2017 were reviewed by the meeting. The main items of the IMC bid and skills development were to be addressed later in the meeting. The minutes were accepted without revision (proposed Prof Mike Lee, seconded Dr James Wesley-Smith).

#### 4. MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL GENERAL MEETING:

The minutes of the Special General Meeting were reviewed. The Chair outlined the purpose of the meeting in terms of changing the constitution to be in line with the decision to hold conferences every second year. The minutes were accepted without revision (proposed Dr Jaco Olivier, seconded Mr Dave Perrett).

#### 5. PRESIDENTS REPORT

The President thanked the organising committee of the 2019 conference for a very successful event, as well as all those who had contributed. It was noted that the Material Sciences contributions had increased, while the Life Sciences submissions had decreased.

The IMC bid to host the 2022 conference was outlined and the efforts made and funding were discussed. It was noted that the bid was not successful, and the meeting was requested to vote on a re-bid for 2022 on the understanding that the MSSA Exco will drive the bid. This was approved by the meeting. Suggestions that the MSSA Trust could assist with some of the funding for the bid were noted.

The outreach initiative into Africa was presented by Dr Rodney Genga, in terms of activities to establish an African Society of Microscopy (with MSSA as a founding member) and the development of regional microscopy societies to increase capacity around microscopy in Africa. This was approved by the meeting.

## 6. INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF SOCIETIES FOR MICROSCOPY (IFSM)

Prof Kirkland provided an overview of IFSM and its functioning to the society, as the current president. He encouraged the society's efforts to develop microscopy capabilities in Africa, and outlined some of the funding that IFSM would be able to provide should a regional society be developed. He further outlined IFSM's efforts to bid for the 2031 UNESCO International Year of Microscopy.

## 7. FINANCIAL REPORT

## 7.1 TREASURERS REPORT

The Treasurer presented the financial report. It was noted that membership seemed fairly stable across the years of review and that the Exco had introduced various approaches to ongoing conferences to increase financial control.

#### 7.2 MEMBERSHIP FEES

Dr J Olivier presented on behalf of the committee a proposed 100% increase in membership fees, with increased benefits for members. This was accepted by the meeting.

Fees will thus be R200 for Ordinary membership, R100 for student membership, R600 for institutional membership, R50 for the joining fee (R0 for students) and R300 for Life Membership.

#### 8. MSSA TRUST

Prof Mike Witcomb presented on behalf of the MSSA Trust. He provided an overview of the founding of the Trust and outlined that an amount of R78,650 had been paid out in this financial year in grants, including an increased number of student grants for the MSSA conference. Prof Baker expressed thanks to the Trust for the provision of the high number of student grants.

#### 9. REPORT: PROCEEDINGS EDITORS

Dr Westraadt reported on the proceedings to the meeting, including the high materials science submissions and low life sciences submissions. He outlined the issues with the submission template which will be addressed. He further apologised for the proceedings being printed in black and white only, despite being requested in colour, and noted that follow-ups with the printer will be done. If there is any feedback on the refereeing process, it was requested for comments to be sent to admin@microscopy.co.za.

Dr Olivier expressed many thanks to Dr Westraadt for all his work as the Materials Science editor but also Editor-in-Chief.

## 10. PROPOSAL: HONORARY MEMBERSHIP

The Chair advised that the previous proposal would be awarded at the gala dinner. No further proposals were received.

## 11. MSSA 2021

Dr Rodney Genga presented an invitation to all to attend the next MSSA conference in 2021 at the University of the Witwatersrand.

He further extended an invitation to attend a workshop on microscopy in materials sciences at Wits in 2020.

## 12. MSSA WEBPAGE

Dr Olivier indicated that they were moving towards having a members-only area of the website to provide extra benefits to members. Members were asked to forward any comments or any additional content for the website to Dr Olivier. The Facebook page was also covered, including its high usage for the micrograph competition.

## 13. MSSA LISTSERVE

This is run by Ms Charity Maepa at the University of Pretoria. New MSSA members have been added, however, if anyone still wishes to join they are to contact Charity or the committee in this regard (<a href="mailto:admin@microscopy.co.za">admin@microscopy.co.za</a>).

#### 14. ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2020-2021

Prof Jan Neethling was requested to run this process. Attendees were reminded that only MSSA members are able to vote for committee members.

It was noted that two committee members are automatically ongoing: Dr Genga and Ms Hendriks.

Two nominations for President were received: Dr Jaco Olivier and Prof Chantelle Baker.

One nomination for Secretary and Treasurer was received: Ms Margaret Ward. Ms Ward was therefore automatically elected.

Five nominations were received for the additional committee members: Prof Rob Knutsen, Ms Charity Maepa, Dr Johan Westraadt, Prof Chantelle Baker and Dr Jaco Olivier.

Paper ballots were cast and the following were appointed:

President: Dr Jaco Olivier

Members: Prof Rob Knutsen, Ms Charity Maepa, Dr Johan Westraadt and Prof Chantelle Baker.

## 7 MEETING CLOSURE

All members were thanked for their attendance and the meeting closed at approximately 18h00.